en es


The Brazilian championship was created on August 23, 1959. It was originally called Taça Brasil to become known as Brasileirão Assaí from 1971 to date. It is structured in four divisions:

  • Serie A (First division)
  • Serie B (Second division)
  • Serie C (Third division)
  • Serie D (Fourth division)

Brasileirão is considered the second best league in the world behind the Premier League and the top first in the American continent, according to the official annual ranking of the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS). In addition, it is the main exporting league of talent in the world: for several years, Brazil has been the country that involves the largest number of clubs in international transfers of football players.

On the other hand, it is the competition with the highest number of derbys on the globe and has 12 World Cup stadiums that offer the best show in the perfect context, accompanied by spectacular playing fields and the fervent passion of its fans.